Try A Chapter To Pick The Next Book In My March Challenge

I know we all get tired of the same old boring posts, especially while most of us are stuck at home right now. So I thought I would switch things up a bit. I’ve been drawing prompts to chose my books all of March, and I am still sticking with that, but for prompt thirteen I wanted to do something a bit different!

Usually I draw the prompt and then go choose a book to match and let you all know what I’ve chosen. The prompt post is set to go up tomorrow, but this time I’ve chosen the prompt a day early! I am going to keep which prompt I selected a secret until tomorrow. I have selected five books that fit the prompt and I am going to read the first chapter of each and whichever one I find the most exciting/intriguing is the one I will choose to continue reading!


The first book I am going to try a chapter of is:

Bloodleaf by Crystal Smith

Goodreads Synopsis:

Aurelia is a princess, but they call her a witch.

Surrounded by spirits and burdened with forbidden magic, she lives in constant fear of discovery by the witch-hunting Tribunal and their bloodthirsty mobs. When a devastating assassination attempt reveals her magical abilities, Aurelia is forced to flee her country with nothing but her life.

Alone and adrift in an enemy kingdom, Aurelia plans her revenge against the Tribunal, desperate to bring down the dark organization that has wrought terror upon her people for hundreds of years. But there’s something deeply amiss in her new home, too, and soon she finds herself swept into a deadly new mystery with a secretive prince, the ghost of an ancient queen, and a poison vine called Bloodleaf.

Aurelia is entangled in a centuries-long game of love, power, and war, and if she can’t break free before the Tribunal makes its last move, she may lose far more than her crown.

The synopsis seems very interesting, but the first chapter was rather confusing. I can see where this is going to be an interesting book, but that first chapter didn’t really hook me. This is going to be magical, but very politically driven and I’m not sure that’s what I’m in the mood for at the moment.


Shadow Frost by Coco Ma

Goodreads Synopsis:

IN THE KINGDOM OF AXARIA, a darkness rises.

Some call it a monster, laying waste to the villagers and their homes.
Some say it is an invulnerable demon summoned from the deepest abysses of the Immortal Realm.
Many soldiers from the royal guard are sent out to hunt it down.

Not one has ever returned.

When Asterin Faelenhart, Princess of Axaria and heir to the throne, discovers that she may hold the key to defeating the mysterious demon terrorizing her kingdom, she vows not to rest until the beast is slain. With the help of her friends and the powers she wields — though has yet to fully understand — Asterin sets out to complete a single task. The task that countless, trained soldiers have failed.

To kill it.

But as they hunt for the demon, they unearth a plot to assassinate the Princess herself instead. Asterin and her companions begin to wonder how much of their lives have been lies, especially when they realize that the center of the web of deceit might very well be themselves. With no one else to turn to, they are forced to decide just how much they are willing to sacrifice to protect the only world they have ever known.

That is, of course… if the demon doesn’t get to them first.

That was very interesting. I really enjoy elemental based magic and this one is full of it. I already like the main character, and see where there will be some tensions and a possible adventure pending. I also can see a lot of bad ass fight scenes coming. I’m excited for more of this book!


White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Goodreads Synopsis:

ONE KISS CAN KILL

Layla just wants to be normal—fit in at school, go out on real dates and do other typical teenager things. Trouble is, Layla is anything but normal and her longtime crush, Zayne, treats her like a little sister. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities that no one else possesses. And even though Zayne is a Warden, part of the race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe, Layla’s kiss will kill anything with a soul—including him.

Enter Roth—a smart-mouthed demon who claims to know her deepest, most dangerous secrets. Though Layla knows she should stay away, it’s tough when that whole soul thing isn’t an issue. Trusting Roth could brand her a traitor to the Warden family that raised her and destroy her relationship with Zayne. But with a violent demon uprising looming in the distance, kissing the enemy suddenly pales in comparison to the end of the world.

This is an older book but I was told I needed to read this series before starting the Harbinger series, so it is pretty high on my tbr right now. I thought the first chapter was pretty good. It was informative, and set up the story without giving too much away. Just enough to pull you in and get you excited for what’s to come. It did give me vibes from a lot of stories I’ve read in the past, but I think thats just because it’s from 2014 and has an older vibe to it than the new releases I have been reading lately.


The Queen’s Assassin by Melissa De La Cruz

Goodreads Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen, this is the first novel in a sweeping YA fantasy-romance duet about a deadly assassin, his mysterious apprentice, and the country they are sworn to protect from #1 NYT bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz.

Caledon Holt is the Kingdom of Renovia’s deadliest weapon. No one alive can best him in brawn or brains, which is why he’s the Guild’s most dangerous member and the Queen’s one and only assassin. He’s also bound to the Queen by an impossible vow–to find the missing Deian Scrolls, the fount of all magical history and knowledge, stolen years ago by a nefarious sect called the Aphrasians.

Shadow has been training all her life to follow in the footsteps of her mother and aunts–to become skilled enough to join the ranks of the Guild. Though magic has been forbidden since the Aphrasian uprising, Shadow has been learning to control her powers in secret, hoping that one day she’ll become an assassin as feared and revered as Caledon Holt.

When a surprise attack brings Shadow and Cal together, they’re forced to team up as assassin and apprentice to hunt down a new sinister threat to Renovia. But as Cal and Shadow grow closer, they’ll uncover a shocking web of lies and secrets that may destroy everything they hold dear. With war on the horizon and true love at risk, they’ll stop at nothing to protect each other and their kingdom in this stunning first novel in the Queen’s Secret series.

I am intrigued. There wasn’t a whole lot to go on from that first chapter, but it does seem mysterious and exciting. I’m not 100% sure it’s what I am looking to read right now, but it will definitely be something I will want to read in the very near future! I like a bad-ass female MC and I think this book has it!


A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson

Goodreads Synopsis:

The case is closed. Five years ago, schoolgirl Andie Bell was murdered by Sal Singh. The police know he did it. Everyone in town knows he did it.

But having grown up in the same small town that was consumed by the murder, Pippa Fitz-Amobi isn’t so sure. When she chooses the case as the topic for her final year project, she starts to uncover secrets that someone in town desperately wants to stay hidden. And if the real killer is still out there, how far will they go to keep Pip from the truth?


Why am I already fully invested in this story? That first chapter was amazing! It hooked me immediately and then kept drawing me in! The writing style is so cool and we have case files and interview style writing thrown in to the actual story. This is going to be so much fun to read! It’s actually taking a lot of will power not to keep reading it right now.

That being said I’m not sure if I will be choosing this one or another one to continue reading for prompt #13. Either way whichever one I don’t choose I will be trying very hard to get it to fit another prompt this coming week. There were two books I am VERY interested in continuing so check in tomorrow to see which one I choose!


Based on the books I tried today what do you think the prompt is? What do all of these books have in common? Also, which book do you think I will be choosing? Come back tomorrow to find out all the answers! Until then, Happy Reading đź–¤

3 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s